Bill Frisell and Carrie Rodriguez

Friday, January 13, 2012

Highlight Video

Watch Video

Event Photos

  • Bill_and_Carrie_1.jpg
  • Bill_and_Carrie_2.jpg
  • Bill_and_Carrie_3.jpg
  • Bill_and_Carrie_4.jpg
  • Bill_and_Carrie_5.jpg
  • Bill_and_Carrie_6.jpg
  • Bill_and_Carrie_7.jpg
LIVE @ 7:30 PM CST
A one-of-a-kind evening of artistry and chemistry

A miraculous offering. A one-of-a-kind evening. Enjoy these images from Rodney Bursiel and video from our Blue Rock tech staff.  

Bill Frisell has collaborated with artists as diverse as Elvis Costello, Bono, T-Bone Burnett, Paul Simon, McCoy Tyner, Ornette Coleman, Brian Eno, Ry Cooder, Renée Fleming, and many more – a testament to his virtuosity as a guitarist, bandleader and composer. He is a Grammy winner and two-time nominee including a 2009 nomination for Best Jazz Instrumental Album, a 9-time Best Guitarist winner in the DOWNBEAT Critics Poll (including 2010) and three-time DOWNBEAT Readers Poll winner for Best Guitarist, and the Reigning Jazz Awards Guitarist of the Year (2008 & 2009).

“I like to have fun when I play and I like comedy - but it’s not a conscious thing. I’m basically a pretty shy person and I don’t dance or get into fights. But there are all these things inside me that get out when I perform. It’s like a real world when I play, where I can do all
the things I can’t do in real life.” - Bill Frisell to The Village Voice

Reared in Austin, TX, and schooled at Boston’s Berklee College of Music, the fiddle-playing singer/songwriter Carrie Rodriguez made her recording debut in 2002 by contributing to Chip Taylor’s Let’s Leave This Town. Taylor had first heard Rodriguez at the 2001 South by Southwest conference and subsequently invited her to tour alongside him, which she did for several years. The duo also released several collaborative albums, which allowed Rodriguez to showcase her fiddle expertise while slowly sharpening her songwriting prowess. She then released her solo debut, Seven Angels on a Bicycle, in 2006. She Ain’t Me followed two years later, featuring an increased emphasis on Rodriguez’s vocals. Live in Louisville, recorded during her 2007 tour with Lucinda Williams, appeared in 2009. Love and Circumstance, an album of covers of classic love songs, arrived in 2010. That same year, Rodriguez released the compilation album The New Bye & Bye featuring four new songs with Taylor.

Blue Rock on TwitterBlue Rock on TwitterBlue Rock YouTube ChannelBlue Rock Facebook Page